Buying the flowers 🌺 

I love flowers. If I had to pick a favorite, I’d probably say peonies. I’m big into the whole shabby chic look too ( just an FYI about me )

In the last few months, I have started buying them each week. I always admire them when I’m in the store… I buy them for other people… But something inside kept me from buying them for myself…

There are a myriad of reasons and shame for the why not… but I decided to break that thought process. I bought myself the flowers. I continue to buy the flowers. Each week my kitchen table is adorned with a beautiful bouquet of flowers…. usually wildflowers.

I  love wildflowers. I identify with them. 

Their beauty is all their own.. each one slightly different than the next.

One thing I especially love about wildflowers is their strength. They grow in some of the least desirable terrain… under the least desirable conditions… and when you cut them, they still can live a long time

Compare that to the orchid… the lily… 

sure, those have their place… And they definitely have their admirers 

My mind goes to visions of these being “kept” versus the wildflower who is expected and appreciated for blooming freely…. 

that’s who I am. That’s what I need.

There is a place in the world for both.


I recently had a short tarot reading… and one of the first things they told me was that while I say I want love, and a relationship… A big part of me does not.

That’s always been my truth. My secret. 

I have had many opportunities for relationships… I had other opportunities even for marriage.

I’ve chosen other paths. Sometimes consciously, sometimes not.

I remember thinking once last year, that I am very similar to the animal who will chew their own paw off to escape… 

What I didn’t realize then, is that it was perfectly OK for me to not want a man in my life. It is perfectly ok to want one… on my terms. 


These last few months have given me back my life. My confidence in me… my decisions.

I’m blooming again. I’m feeling beautiful again ( not just physically- but as a person- my soul is opening again to life )

This has been the best year of my life. I’m happy.

I chose me. I’m continuing to choose me.

And maybe next year, I may choose someone else. Or maybe I won’t 

Either way, I know that I’m blooming just as God planted me. 

Flowers fill my home with beauty and remind me to bloom in my own time and my own way! 

Please ladies… buy yourself the flowers.

🌺

20 thoughts on “Buying the flowers 🌺 

  1. I loved reading this! It sounds like you have learned a lot about yourself, Cinn…and learned to accept yourself for who you are and what you want (or don’t want). That is AMAZING. I too share an affinity for flowers. On my back deck I have planted at least 30 different types of flowers and I spend a lot of time back there tending to them, dead-heading, and watering. Flowers bring such peace and joy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can’t wait for the day I have a garden… For now, I keep a small patio version… But I need to add more

      Thank you for your comment. Because of how I was raised, anything I say positive about myself… I’m always worried it’s going to be perceived as arrogance

      So thank you. Thank you for receiving my word as I meant them ❤️

      Liked by 2 people

  2. So glad to hear you sounding so good! I had never thought of it but what you said got me thinking…*chuckles* I’ll have to do some of that in the next few days & maybe do a bit more evaluating of my own life. So thank you also for the inspiration & much needed kick to do just that. *smiles & huggies*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s amazing how it feels when we give ourself permission to treat ourselves as good as we would others! Please share your flowers or “flowers” because your thing may not be the same as mine
      Xoxo 😘

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Love those! Daisies are my Dads favorite. I need to ask my Mom what hers is. I’m thinking roses but may be surprised… hmm

      Never been to TraderJoes. Will have to check out

      Liked by 1 person

  3. When I worked for a major company I had an account set up with a florist for flowers to be delivered to me at work. When I was on vacation I let the secretaries take turns enjoying them.

    So happy you’ve found the value in you. 🌸🌺🌸🌺🌸🌺

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I LOVED reading this Cinn.
    It reminded me of when I used to buy flowers every week at the local market.
    Now… I don’t have the cash to do it. And I am sad about taking the life of a living thing. One day maybe it’ll be important to me again?

    But what I particularly liked was your description of how you grew within yourself.
    One thing I wanted to say though. “I chose me. I continue to choose me.
    Maybe next year I’ll choose someone else.”
    I just want to point out: meeting someone else doesn’t mean that you have to stop choosing YOU.
    Actually, the more it goes, the more I feel like you attract someone else BECAUSE you keep choosing you.
    Someone you could live without, but choose to share your life, yourself with.
    It’s awfully late. I may not make much sense. Sorry if that’s the case.
    Hugs Cinn!
    ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Good! I’m glad to read this 😄
        🌻🌷
        Some of my favourite flowers are peonies, sunflowers and tulips. But I like the wildflowers as well. They remind me of being myself. Like you just said 😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

